Friday Face Off : A cover featuring an Amulet – either in the cover or title

FFO.jpg

Here we are again with the Friday Face Off meme created by Books by Proxy .  This is a great opportunity to feature some of your favourite book covers.  The rules are fairly simple each week, following a predetermined theme (list below) choose a book, compare a couple of the different covers available for that particular book and choose your favourite.   Future week’s themes are listed below – the list has been updated to help out those of you who like to plan ahead – if you have a cover in mind that you’re really wanting to share then feel free to leave a comment about a future suggested theme. This week’s theme:

A cover featuring an Amulet – either in the cover or title

I thought I had a few books for this week’s theme but when I went to look I was much mistaken.  Alas.  So, much wracking of brains ensued – I was trying all sorts of ideas and trying to recall characters wearing talismans and that’s when it hit me – Atticus from Kevin Hearne’s Iron Druid Chronicles.  Atticus is a great character and in fact the series is tremendous fun – I’ve fallen behind but think I read the first five books.  Atticus has fashioned himself an Iron Amulet with binding charms worked into each section.  Quite a lot of the different instalments show the amulet but I’ve gone for the first in series.  Hounded (The Iron Druid Chronicles #1) by Kevin Hearne:

The covers:

There were only a few covers to choose from and for that reason I’m going for the original cover which I love – and which is a style reflected in the rest of the books in the series:

My favourite this week is:

hounded 1

Here are the other covers for the first five books so you can see what the series looks like:

Like last week I’ve added a Mr Linky here so that you can leave a link if you wish or please leave me a link in the comments so I can visit and check out your covers.  Thanks

Next week – A cover featuring a monk/priest/person of the cloth

Future themes: (if you’re struggling with any of these themes then use a ‘freebie’ of one of your favourite covers)

2019

25th January – ‘Be kind whenever possible. It is always possible.’ – A cover featuring a monk/priest/person of the cloth

1st February – A comedy cover

8th February – ‘Hi little cub. Oh no, don’t be ssscared.’ – A cover with snakes

15th February – A heart – for Valentine’s day past

22nd February – “Woe, destruction, ruin, and decay; the worst is death and death will have his day.” – A cover with abandoned building/s

1st March – ‘who will buy this wonderful morning’ – A cover featuring a shop or market

8th March – ‘Two little fishes and a momma fishy too’ – A cover featuring a fish/fishes or other sea creatures

15th March – ‘Beware the moon, lads.’ – A cover with a shapeshifter

22nd March – ‘A horse, a horse, my kingdom for a horse’ – A cover featuring a king

29th March – “I thought unicorns were more . . . Fluffy.”  – A cover featuring a unicorn

5th April – ‘nomad is an island’ – A cover featuring a desert landscape

12th April – ‘Odin, Odin, send the wind to turn the tide – A cover featuring a longboat

19th April – ‘It was the best of times, it was the worst of times – A cover featuring a school

Can’t Wait Wednesday : Kill The Farm Boy (The Tales of Pell #1) by Kevin Hearne and Delilah S. Dawson

Can't Wait Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was originally created by Breaking the Spine.  Unfortunately Breaking the Spine are no longer hosting so I’m now linking my posts up to Wishful Endings Can’t Wait Wednesday. Don’t forget to stop over, link up and check out what books everyone else is waiting for.  If you want to take part, basically, every Wednesday, we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week my book is: Kill The Farm Boy (The Tales of Pell #1) by Kevin Hearne and Delilah S. Dawson:

Kill theIn an irreverent new series in the tradition of Terry Pratchett novels and The Princess Bride, the New York Times bestselling authors of the Iron Druid Chronicles and Star Wars: Phasmareinvent fantasy, fairy tales, and floridly written feast scenes.

Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom, a hero, the Chosen One, was born . . . and so begins every fairy tale ever told.

This is not that fairy tale.

There is a Chosen One, but he is unlike any One who has ever been Chosened.

And there is a faraway kingdom, but you have never been to a magical world quite like the land of Pell.

There, a plucky farm boy will find more than he’s bargained for on his quest to awaken the sleeping princess in her cursed tower. First there’s the Dark Lord who wishes for the boy’s untimely death . . . and also very fine cheese. Then there’s a bard without a song in her heart but with a very adorable and fuzzy tail, an assassin who fears not the night but is terrified of chickens, and a mighty fighter more frightened of her sword than of her chain-mail bikini. This journey will lead to sinister umlauts, a trash-talking goat, the Dread Necromancer Steve, and a strange and wondrous journey to the most peculiar “happily ever after” that ever once-upon-a-timed.

Expected Publication 24th July 2018

Waiting on Wednesday : A Plague of Giants (Seven Kennings #1) by Kevin Hearne


“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was created by Breaking the Spine.  Every Wednesday we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  My book this week is : A Plague of Giants (Seven Kennings #1) by Kevin Hearne

aplague.jpgIn the start of an enchanting new series, the New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles creates an unforgettable fantasy world . . . one that is forever changed when an army of giants invades. The kingdom’s only hope? The discovery of a form of magic that will call the world’s wondrous beasts to fight by the side of humankind.

Expected publication October 2017

Let Sleeping Dogs Lie…

This week over at The Fantasy Review Barn we are travelling once again through the tropes of fantasy.  This week’s topic is pets.  I’ve decided to stick to our best friends.  The canines!

Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden has a dog – Mouse.  Quite the opposite as he’s something of a giant!

Kevin Hearne’s Druid Chronicles – Atticus the Druid has a dog called Oberon.  Oberon is one of the best fictional dog characters EVER and has the funniest lines of the whole book – well, no, he doesn’t talk but Atticus and Oberton can converse telepathcially.

J K Rowling’s Harry Potter.  Hagrid’s dogs – Fluffy and Fang – I think Fluffy was the three headed dog and Fang is the big black shaggy soft hearted critter.

Toto – The Wizard of Oz – not even going to give a name or description – don’t be pretending that you don’t know who Toto is or I’ll set the flying monkeys on you.  Would have mentioned them as pets to the Wicked Witch but I’ve decided to stick with the dawgs!

A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs – John Carter finds himself with a very unusual dog like character called Woola – fiercely protective and with three sets of teeth quite a formidable character.

Honorary Mentions –

JRRTolkien’s LotR – Bill the Pony

Captain the cat from Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish because a vampire hunting cat is pretty cool

Tricked by Kevin Hearne

Tricked is the fourth instalment of the Iron Druid Chronicles brought to us by Kevin Hearne.  This is a great series of books with oodles of humour, some great banter and a cheeky, rather easy on the eye mind, Druid called Atticus.  If you haven’t read any of the IC books then I recommend you give them a go.  They’re chockablock with different characters, myths, religions, weird and wonderful creatures and giggles.

At the start of the story you may be surprised to discover that Atticus dies.  Now, keep your undies on – it’s a staged death to get certain people, who are less than pleased with him following his antics in Hammered, off his back, and, still keep your trollies on – that wasn’t a spoiler – it’s the first line of the book (and also there’s a rather big giveaway on the jacket!)  So, faked death successful, bad guys off the trail, what can possibly go wrong?  Plenty.

Coyote plays a main role in this story which is where we get the title from of course because he’s tricksy after all!  So, in payment for aforesaid staged demise, Atticus is now in Coyote’s debt and has made an arrangement to help him and his people – unfortunately for Atticus, he didn’t read the small print and pretty soon he’s going to be up to his neck in sand with the ants swarming (I made that bit up).

I really enjoyed this.  Oberon plays a big part and the banter between him and Atticus is as good as ever.  Lots of one liners and playing oneupmanship on each other usually with the incentive of sausages (not for Atticus).  The story examines a little more of Atticus’s former life which is interesting and I think could bear a lot more of a look into.

We spend more time with Granuaile which helps to get to know her a little bit better and the chemistry between the two seems to be hotting up, in spite of Atticus having the best intentions not to become involved with his student.  It’s simply not the done thing!

Anyway, the main action contains a whole new form of evil in the form of skinwalkers.  They’re some nasty characters, vicious, fast, evil and with a demented mania to have a taste of our hero.  These skinwalkers can shape shift.  They’ve been living out in the desert for many years picking off innocent people.  They’re seriously messing with the set up of Coyote’s new enterprise and yet Coyote is missing in action.  This problem doesn’t belong to Atticus but he will own it against his will or better judgement.

Now, I won’t go too much more into the  plot.  There’s plenty of action in this story.  There are new characters plus some old ones.  A bit of betrayal from an unexpected source and an intriguing set up for the next story.

I do enjoy these books.  I thought this one was not as dark as the last and to a certain extent I preferred this.  There’s a certain sort of light relief in reading these books.  They are easy to read, they always have a fast moving plot and there are plenty of different myths and religions that seem to live together seamlessly.

Did I miss anything?  Yes, the Widow!  I’m not going to tell about that.  You’ll have to read it.  And, Leif!!!  No way!

Mmm, criticisms.  I’m still not 100% sure about the Atticus/Granuaile thing.  It’s not that I don’t like Granuaile but I’m just not convinced by it somehow.  Not yet at least anyway.  However, that being said, I am convinced about this series, which is good.

Looking forward to reading the next.

Next Page »