Can’t Wait Wednesday : Kill The Farm Boy (The Tales of Pell #1) by Kevin Hearne and Delilah S. Dawson

Can't Wait Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was originally created by Breaking the Spine.  Unfortunately Breaking the Spine are no longer hosting so I’m now linking my posts up to Wishful Endings Can’t Wait Wednesday. Don’t forget to stop over, link up and check out what books everyone else is waiting for.  If you want to take part, basically, every Wednesday, we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week my book is: Kill The Farm Boy (The Tales of Pell #1) by Kevin Hearne and Delilah S. Dawson:

Kill theIn an irreverent new series in the tradition of Terry Pratchett novels and The Princess Bride, the New York Times bestselling authors of the Iron Druid Chronicles and Star Wars: Phasmareinvent fantasy, fairy tales, and floridly written feast scenes.

Once upon a time, in a faraway kingdom, a hero, the Chosen One, was born . . . and so begins every fairy tale ever told.

This is not that fairy tale.

There is a Chosen One, but he is unlike any One who has ever been Chosened.

And there is a faraway kingdom, but you have never been to a magical world quite like the land of Pell.

There, a plucky farm boy will find more than he’s bargained for on his quest to awaken the sleeping princess in her cursed tower. First there’s the Dark Lord who wishes for the boy’s untimely death . . . and also very fine cheese. Then there’s a bard without a song in her heart but with a very adorable and fuzzy tail, an assassin who fears not the night but is terrified of chickens, and a mighty fighter more frightened of her sword than of her chain-mail bikini. This journey will lead to sinister umlauts, a trash-talking goat, the Dread Necromancer Steve, and a strange and wondrous journey to the most peculiar “happily ever after” that ever once-upon-a-timed.

Expected Publication 24th July 2018

Advertisements

Waiting on Wednesday : A Plague of Giants (Seven Kennings #1) by Kevin Hearne


“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was created by Breaking the Spine.  Every Wednesday we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  My book this week is : A Plague of Giants (Seven Kennings #1) by Kevin Hearne

aplague.jpgIn the start of an enchanting new series, the New York Times bestselling author of The Iron Druid Chronicles creates an unforgettable fantasy world . . . one that is forever changed when an army of giants invades. The kingdom’s only hope? The discovery of a form of magic that will call the world’s wondrous beasts to fight by the side of humankind.

Expected publication October 2017

Let Sleeping Dogs Lie…

This week over at The Fantasy Review Barn we are travelling once again through the tropes of fantasy.  This week’s topic is pets.  I’ve decided to stick to our best friends.  The canines!

Jim Butcher’s Harry Dresden has a dog – Mouse.  Quite the opposite as he’s something of a giant!

Kevin Hearne’s Druid Chronicles – Atticus the Druid has a dog called Oberon.  Oberon is one of the best fictional dog characters EVER and has the funniest lines of the whole book – well, no, he doesn’t talk but Atticus and Oberton can converse telepathcially.

J K Rowling’s Harry Potter.  Hagrid’s dogs – Fluffy and Fang – I think Fluffy was the three headed dog and Fang is the big black shaggy soft hearted critter.

Toto – The Wizard of Oz – not even going to give a name or description – don’t be pretending that you don’t know who Toto is or I’ll set the flying monkeys on you.  Would have mentioned them as pets to the Wicked Witch but I’ve decided to stick with the dawgs!

A Princess of Mars by Edgar Rice Burroughs – John Carter finds himself with a very unusual dog like character called Woola – fiercely protective and with three sets of teeth quite a formidable character.

Honorary Mentions –

JRRTolkien’s LotR – Bill the Pony

Captain the cat from Owl and the Japanese Circus by Kristi Charish because a vampire hunting cat is pretty cool

Tricked by Kevin Hearne

Tricked is the fourth instalment of the Iron Druid Chronicles brought to us by Kevin Hearne.  This is a great series of books with oodles of humour, some great banter and a cheeky, rather easy on the eye mind, Druid called Atticus.  If you haven’t read any of the IC books then I recommend you give them a go.  They’re chockablock with different characters, myths, religions, weird and wonderful creatures and giggles.

At the start of the story you may be surprised to discover that Atticus dies.  Now, keep your undies on – it’s a staged death to get certain people, who are less than pleased with him following his antics in Hammered, off his back, and, still keep your trollies on – that wasn’t a spoiler – it’s the first line of the book (and also there’s a rather big giveaway on the jacket!)  So, faked death successful, bad guys off the trail, what can possibly go wrong?  Plenty.

Coyote plays a main role in this story which is where we get the title from of course because he’s tricksy after all!  So, in payment for aforesaid staged demise, Atticus is now in Coyote’s debt and has made an arrangement to help him and his people – unfortunately for Atticus, he didn’t read the small print and pretty soon he’s going to be up to his neck in sand with the ants swarming (I made that bit up).

I really enjoyed this.  Oberon plays a big part and the banter between him and Atticus is as good as ever.  Lots of one liners and playing oneupmanship on each other usually with the incentive of sausages (not for Atticus).  The story examines a little more of Atticus’s former life which is interesting and I think could bear a lot more of a look into.

We spend more time with Granuaile which helps to get to know her a little bit better and the chemistry between the two seems to be hotting up, in spite of Atticus having the best intentions not to become involved with his student.  It’s simply not the done thing!

Anyway, the main action contains a whole new form of evil in the form of skinwalkers.  They’re some nasty characters, vicious, fast, evil and with a demented mania to have a taste of our hero.  These skinwalkers can shape shift.  They’ve been living out in the desert for many years picking off innocent people.  They’re seriously messing with the set up of Coyote’s new enterprise and yet Coyote is missing in action.  This problem doesn’t belong to Atticus but he will own it against his will or better judgement.

Now, I won’t go too much more into the  plot.  There’s plenty of action in this story.  There are new characters plus some old ones.  A bit of betrayal from an unexpected source and an intriguing set up for the next story.

I do enjoy these books.  I thought this one was not as dark as the last and to a certain extent I preferred this.  There’s a certain sort of light relief in reading these books.  They are easy to read, they always have a fast moving plot and there are plenty of different myths and religions that seem to live together seamlessly.

Did I miss anything?  Yes, the Widow!  I’m not going to tell about that.  You’ll have to read it.  And, Leif!!!  No way!

Mmm, criticisms.  I’m still not 100% sure about the Atticus/Granuaile thing.  It’s not that I don’t like Granuaile but I’m just not convinced by it somehow.  Not yet at least anyway.  However, that being said, I am convinced about this series, which is good.

Looking forward to reading the next.

Hammered by Kevin Hearne

Just finished reading Hammered by Kevin Hearne.  Wow.  This series is really growing up!!  If you haven’t already read Hounded or Hexed then the following will undoubtedly contain spoilers so read no further!

Hammered continues where Hexed left off.  Atticus has two debts to fulfill in this story.  He must travel to Asgard to retrieve an apple of eternal youth as part of his deal with Laksha for helping him in Hexed.  Also, he has promised to take Leif to Asgard to help him exact revenge on Thor.  So there’s plenty going on and we delve straight in with Atticus riding bareback on a giant squirrel called Ratatosk to arrive in Asgard and steal an apple from Freyr’s hall but invoking the wrath of the Gods in so doing – particularly as he killed the Norns in the doing.  So, Atticus is now firmly in the sights of the Gods and yet now he must return to Asgard as he has given his word to Leif to assist him (actually, having reread this para it does beg the question of why Atticus just didn’t take Leif with him when he went to retrieve the apple – killing two birds with one stone?  Maybe he thought it would be too risky in terms of bring the apple back??).

This instalment is much darker than the other books.  Without wanting to give away spoilers there is more death and upset this time around.  Plus we don’t get to spend as much time with some of our favourite characters.  Oberon does not travel into battle with Atticus and so we miss a lot of the banter from the previous novels, also the Druid apprentice stays behind.  There is still a generous dose of humour sprinkled in between with plenty of fun references.  We have a huge shout out to Neil Gaiman, and internal conflict with Spock and Kirk playing the good/bad conscience angels perched on Atticus’s shoulders and we have Atticus going for a beer with a hippie, tie dye t-shirt wearing Jesus.  However, even with this liberal sprinkling of humour there is no denying that the stories have taken on a different feel.  We now start to feel some of the repercussions of the actions that Atticus takes.  Not everyone lives!  And, what about that ending – creepy and intriguing (luckily I now don’t have long to wait for the next book to relieve my need for answers!)

What I particularly liked this time was the inclusion of 5 short stories from the characters who travel to Asgard with Atticus.  Each gives their own personal reasons for wishing to kill Thor and I must admit that he’s been a rather nasty piece of work over the ages and deserves everything he gets!

There are also lots of different myths and religions included here – we have a Russian God of Thunder and one of the Eight Chinese Immortals. There is a Finnish God, we have the Norse gods and the Valkryies – if anything there is perhaps a little too much going on!  But that is only a very minor criticism.

This is another very enjoyable instalment in the series and has set the bar for something totally different.  Atticus will now be on the run – he’s no longer safe, his actions are going to bring huge repercussions.  After all you can’t just go round killing gods with impunity and not expect any come back!

I know that I’ve already mentioned the creepy ending – but, it’s not only creepy, it’s also sad!  Yes, this is definitely a much darker and bleaker story – I wonder whether he regrets keeping his word to Leif – I wonder if Leif regrets his desire for revenge.  I wonder if there will be more Oberon and sausages in Tricked!  So many questions.  Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!

I’m going to include this read in one of my current challenges – the Once Upon a Time challenge (or not a challenge) being hosted by Carl over at Stainless Steel Droppings.  I think with the inclusion of so many Gods this can definitely be included in the myth category!  Stop on over and check out this ‘none’ challenge – it’s all about having fun and along the way you get to meet some really great people and find out some excellent recommendations for other books – if your TBR pile can take it!

Hammered

Hammered by Kevin Hearne

Next Page »