Can’t Wait Wednesday : Spellslinger 6: Crownbreaker (Spellslinger #6) by Sebastien de Castell

Can't Wait Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was originally created by Breaking the Spine.  Unfortunately Breaking the Spine are no longer hosting so I’m now linking my posts up to Wishful Endings Can’t Wait Wednesday. Don’t forget to stop over, link up and check out what books everyone else is waiting for.  If you want to take part, basically, every Wednesday, we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week my book is : Spellslinger 6: Crownbreaker (Spellslinger #6) by Sebastien de Castell.  I love this series – in fact it’s a little bit sad that it’s coming to an end.

crown.jpgThe sixth – and final – instalment of the inimitable SPELLSLINGER series.

Kellen and Reichis are settling into their new lives as protectors of the young queen and dealing with the constantly shifting threats to her reign and to her life. For the first time in his life, Kellen feels as if he’s becoming the kind of man that his mentor Ferius had wanted him to be. Even Reichis has come to appreciate having a noble purpose – so long as no one minds him committing the occasional act of theft from the royal treasury.

But what seems to be a simple card game between Kellen and an old man is soon revealed to be a deadly game of wits in which a powerful mage has trapped the queen’s spellslinger in order to kill him.

Expected publication : October 2019

 

Advertisements

Can’t Wait Wednesday : Ghoster by Jason Arnopp

Can't Wait Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was originally created by Breaking the Spine.  Unfortunately Breaking the Spine are no longer hosting so I’m now linking my posts up to Wishful Endings Can’t Wait Wednesday. Don’t forget to stop over, link up and check out what books everyone else is waiting for.  If you want to take part, basically, every Wednesday, we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week my book is : Ghoster by Jason Arnopp.  Check out the synopsis – this sounds super scary.

Ghoster.jpgFrom the author of The Last Days of Jack Sparks comes a chilling new thriller that will have you triple-locking your door at night . . .

Your front door key is not unique.

If a homicidal maniac walked from house to house for long enough, trying the same key in each front door, he might eventually open yours.

Six-year-old Emilee finds this out the hard way when a smiling stranger coolly unlocks her suburban front door. He walks in and brutally attacks her family, then seems to vanish into thin air.

Fourteen years later, the traumatic event haunts both Emilee and Gabriella, the homicide detective who handled the case. Together, they discover that similar home invasions have happened across America for decades. And when they launch a hunt for the ‘key killer,’ they start to wonder if unnatural forces could be at work…

Discover the jaw-dropping, chilling and thoroughly gripping new thriller from Jason Arnopp.

Publication date October 2019

Can’t Wait Wednesday : Starsight (Skyward #2) by Brandon Sanderson

Can't Wait Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was originally created by Breaking the Spine.  Unfortunately Breaking the Spine are no longer hosting so I’m now linking my posts up to Wishful Endings Can’t Wait Wednesday. Don’t forget to stop over, link up and check out what books everyone else is waiting for.  If you want to take part, basically, every Wednesday, we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week my book is : Starsight (Skyward #2) by Brandon Sanderson.  Why, because I loved the first book Skyward, and also I just love Brandon Sanderson – which is why he’s on my auto buy book list.  Read a little bit more about Starsight here and check out the lovely cover:

Starsight.jpgFrom the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Reckoners series, Words of Radiance, the Mistborn trilogy, and the Stormlight Archive comes the second book in an epic series about a girl with a secret in a dangerous world at war for humanity’s future.

All her life, Spensa has dreamed of becoming a pilot. Of proving she’s a hero like her father. She made it to the sky, but the truths she learned about her father were crushing. The rumors of his cowardice are true–he deserted his flight during battle against the Krell. Worse, though, he turned against his team and attacked them.

Spensa is sure there’s more to the story. And she’s sure that whatever happened to her father in his starship could happen to her. When she made it outside the protective shell of her planet, she heard the stars–and it was terrifying. Everything Spensa has been taught about her world is a lie.

But Spensa also discovered a few other things about herself–and she’ll travel to the end of the galaxy to save humankind if she needs to.

Expected publication: November 2019

Can’t Wait Wednesday : Night of the Dragon (Shadow of the Fox #3) by Julie Kagawa

Can't Wait Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was originally created by Breaking the Spine.  Unfortunately Breaking the Spine are no longer hosting so I’m now linking my posts up to Wishful Endings Can’t Wait Wednesday. Don’t forget to stop over, link up and check out what books everyone else is waiting for.  If you want to take part, basically, every Wednesday, we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week my book is : Night of the Dragon (Shadow of the Fox #3) by Julie Kagawa.  I’m so excited for this.  I have quite literally just posted my review for the second in series, Soul of the Sword – which was a fantastic middle book with no irksome syndromes at all.  How happy am I to have this one already showing a cover, a synopsis and a publication date.  Yippee and queue happy dance.

Night of the DragonMaster storyteller Julie Kagawa concludes the enthralling journey into the heart of the fantastical Empire of Iwagoto in the third book of the Shadow of the Fox trilogy. As darkness rises and chaos reigns, a fierce kitsune and her shadowy protector will face down the greatest evil of all. A captivating fantasy for fans of Sabaa Tahir, Sarah J. Maas and Marie Lu.

Kitsune shapeshifter Yumeko has given up the final piece of the Scroll of a Thousand Prayers in order to save everyone she loves from imminent death. Now she and her ragtag band of companions must journey to the wild sea cliffs of Iwagoto in a desperate last-chance effort to stop the Master of Demons from calling upon the Great Kami dragon and making the wish that will plunge the empire into destruction and darkness.

Shadow clan assassin Kage Tatsumi has regained control of his body and agreed to a true deal with the devil—the demon inside him, Hakaimono. They will share his body and work with Yumeko and their companions to stop a madman and separate Hakaimono from Tatsumi and the cursed sword that had trapped the demon for nearly a millennium.

But even with their combined skills and powers, this most unlikely team of heroes knows the forces of evil may be impossible to overcome. And there is another player in the battle for the scroll, a player who has been watching, waiting for the right moment to pull strings that no one even realized existed…until now.

OMG – just read that synopsis – sound like the final instalment is going to be mind blowing.

Expected publication : March 2020

Can’t Wait Wednesday : Dispel Illusion (Impossible Times #3) by Mark Lawrence

Can't Wait Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was originally created by Breaking the Spine.  Unfortunately Breaking the Spine are no longer hosting so I’m now linking my posts up to Wishful Endings Can’t Wait Wednesday. Don’t forget to stop over, link up and check out what books everyone else is waiting for.  If you want to take part, basically, every Wednesday, we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week my book is : Dispel Illusion (Impossible Times #3) by Mark Lawrence.  The final instalment of the highly enjoyable Impossible Times series by Mark Lawrence.  I can’t wait to see how everything concludes and there isn’t a long wait – due out on 14th November.  Here’s a snippet from the first chapter taken from Goodreads:

Dispel Illusion“Chapter 1 – 1992

The two saving graces of explosions are that from the outside they’re pretty and from the inside they’re quick. The one I was in was taking forever though and had none of the fiery goodness of the typical Hollywood offering. When time explodes it tends not to create exciting fireballs, and most of the shrapnel inside the Winston Laboratory was crawling through the air at a pace that makes snails look zippy.”

So, looks like things are going to get off to a fairly dramatic start then.

Literally – I can’t wait.

 

Here are my reviews for books 1 and 2.

Next Page »