Can’t Wait Wednesday : Wanderers by Chuck Wendig

Can't Wait Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was originally created by Breaking the Spine.  Unfortunately Breaking the Spine are no longer hosting so I’m now linking my posts up to Wishful Endings Can’t Wait Wednesday. Don’t forget to stop over, link up and check out what books everyone else is waiting for.  If you want to take part, basically, every Wednesday, we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week my book is : Wanderers by Chuck Wendig.  Because – Chuck Wendig! and also check out the description – this sounds great:

WanderersA decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world’s last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable determination to a destination that only she knows. But Shana and are sister are not alone. Soon they are joined by a flock of sleepwalkers from across America, on the same mysterious journey. And like Shana, there are other “shepherds” who follow the flock to protect their friends and family on the long dark road ahead.

For on their journey, they will discover an America convulsed with terror and violence, where this apocalyptic epidemic proves less dangerous than the fear of it. As the rest of society collapses all around them–and an ultraviolent militia threatens to exterminate them–the fate of the sleepwalkers depends on unraveling the mystery behind the epidemic. The terrifying secret will either tear the nation apart–or bring the survivors together to remake a shattered world.

Due for publication : July 2019

Advertisements

18 Responses to “Can’t Wait Wednesday : Wanderers by Chuck Wendig”

  1. waytoofantasy

    I have yet to read any of Chuck Wendig’s work but this sounds interesting. I don’t know why but I love stories about epidemics too. I may have to check this one out.

    • @lynnsbooks

      Fingers crossed for lots of goodness -he’s a very ‘gritty’ type of writer, brutal and bloody in fact sometimes so I’m curious to see what he does here.
      Lynn 😀

  2. Tammy

    I’m super excited for this book, it sounds epic!

  3. Barb (boxermommyreads)

    You had me at rock star. I love books that incorporate music in one way or another. Sounds like a unique group of people to throw together in a dystopian world.

  4. Nadine - todaysechoes

    This sounds so damn good! So pumped.

  5. maddalena@spaceandsorcery

    Although my previous encounter with Wending did not go well, I’m still curious about his works and more than ready to give him a second chance: this story sounds exactly what I might enjoy and who knows? I might even change my mind… 😉
    Thanks for sharing!

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yeah, I think he can be a little bit hit or miss – I enjoyed the start of the Miriam Black series but then I’ve trailed off since the last book and it doesn’t seem to have ended on a high. But I do like this author so we’ll see.
      Lynn 😀

  6. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Yep, I’m definitely ready for something new from Wendig! Miriam Black had a great run, but I think he was losing steam towards the end. Hopefully this fresh start will be like a shot of energy for him and readers.

  7. Nicole Evans

    I am *definitely* very excited to check this one out. I have only read Invasive by Wendig (though I read his blog religiously), but if this is being compared to THE STAND, it’s going to be mental and I’m stoked.

  8. Carmen

    Wow, that’s powerful stuff! I hope it delivers. 🙂

  9. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    One of these days I’m going to give Wending another chance. I loved the first few books I read by him, but Zer0es really didn’t work for me, and I’ve been hesitant since (I feel like there was another one that I was on the fence about)

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yeah, I’ve really loved some of his books and I was enjoying the Miriam Black books but then they kind of trailed off a little for me and I’m not sure I have the enthusiasm to finish them now. We’ll see. But I do really like some of his books so even though it’s a bit hit and miss I’d like to have another go.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s