Top Ten Tuesday : If You Love/Loved ‘X” You’ll Love ‘X’

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme where every Tuesday we look at a particular topic for discussion and use various (or more to the point ten) bookish examples to demonstrate that particular topic.  Top Ten Tuesday (created and hosted by  The Broke and Bookish) is now being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl and future week’s topics can be found here.  This week’s topic :

Books to Read If You Love/Loved X 

This week I’ve come up with a list of books all from this year’s reading and these are all books I loved and recommend.  I hesitate to make too many comparisons between authors and books so take these comparisons with a grain of salt – but definitely check them out:

1. Mask of Mirrors – Well, I loved this start to The Rook and Rose series by MA Carrick and for me it had a flavour of Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastards but a female version.

Mask

2. Shiver bt Allie Reynolds.  If you fancy a locked room mystery set atop a freezing cold mountain with a small group of friends who all seem to have their own secrets then this is for you.  Will perhaps appeal to fans of Lucy Foley.

Shiver

3. The Echo Wife by Sarah Galley – if you like Stepford Wives you might enjoy this strange little story.  Two wives, one dead husband and a lot of unexpected scientific developments that come with their own moral dilemmas.   Described as ‘Big Little Lies meets Black Mirror’

Echo

4. Witherward by Hannah Mathewson – a magical book with not one but two Londons.  Compared with good reason to a Darker Shade of Magic and Six of Crows, I really enjoyed this story and  it is described as ‘perfect for fans of VE Schwab’.

Witherward

5. The Combat Codes by Alexander Darwin – futuristic, dystopian world where champions fight in the arena to prevent the need for war.  I think fans of the Hunger Games or Red Rising would enjoy this.  It’s quite unique with excellently described fight scenes and a good master/student vibe.

CC

6. The Blacktongue Thief by Christopher Buehlman- packed with fantasy elements jostling alongside the occasional dose of horror and full of humour and grimdark(ness).  I really enjoyed this.  I think if you like adult fantasy with a touch of the grim. some colourful cursing and great characters, I’m thinking along the lines Abercrombie/Eames/Remic – then this might work well for you.

Blacktongue

7. Come With Me by Ronald Malfi- psychological thriller/horror, chilling with light supernatural aspects. Think a strange mash of Silence of the Lambs meets Gone Girl.  Definitely a chilling story that is totally addictive.

Comewithme

 

8. The Women of Troy series by Pat Barker- if you enjoy Greek myth and the story of the Trojan War this is a retelling told from the females who survived the sacking of their city.  Highly recommended.

Silenceofthe

9. Scales and Sensibility by Stephanie Burgis- Regency rom com a la Austen style with a delicious dollop of dragons, magic and romance – you’re welcome.

Scales and

10. The Hidden by Melanie Golding – a great blend of dark atmosphere, mystery and folklore – I think if you enjoy authors such as Alice Hoffman and Kate Atkinson you will enjoy Melanie Golding.

idden

15 Responses to “Top Ten Tuesday : If You Love/Loved ‘X” You’ll Love ‘X’”

  1. lydiaschoch

    The Silence of the Girls sounds really good.

    My post: https://lydiaschoch.com/top-ten-tuesday-books-to-read-if-you-love-hard-science-fiction/

    • @lynnsbooks

      I loved that and the second in series and I’m looking forward with excitementto see what the author comes up with next.
      Lynn 😀

  2. Greg

    The Echo Wife sounds fabulous and I’ve been wanting to get that one. I’m leery of marketing blurbs of course but “Big Little Lies meets Black Mirror” IS intriguing ha ha!

    Shiver looks amazing.

    The Hidden looks great too. Nice cover.

    • @lynnsbooks

      Well, you’ve chosen two little crackers there. Both really good and highly recommended.
      Lynn 😀

  3. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Great list! Come With Me was one of my favorite books I read this year, and I loved the way you described/compared it!

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yep, same. Loved that book, in fact I did go back and by one of the other books already released by the author, I should try and read it, perhaps Decemer.
      Lynn 😀

  4. Tammy

    The Blacktongue Thief and Come With Me are both amazing and top books of 2021!

  5. pagesandtea

    I like the sound of the Pat Barker series, and The Mask of Mirrors also sounds really good too.

    • @lynnsbooks

      Two great choices that I think you would really like.
      Lynn 😀

  6. maddalena@spaceandsorcery

    Wonderful list, containing some books I’d love to explore! And I’m glad you started with Carrik’s book, one I loved and whose second volume will come out shortly – I can hardly wait… 🙂

  7. aquavenatus

    An eclectic list! This is one of the reasons why I started my blog. I wanted readers to know which books they should consider reading that are similar to those I read and reviewed.

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yes, I tend to read a lot of fantasy but also some horror, thriller and history. And that’s certainly one of the reasons why I love visiting other blogs.
      Lynn 😀

  8. Rebecca

    What a fun theme for this week! Witherward and Scales and Sensibility are definitely going on my TBR!

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s