Can’t Wait Wednesday : Witherward (Witherward #1) by Hannah Mathewson

Can't Wait Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was originally created by Breaking the Spine.  Unfortunately Breaking the Spine are no longer hosting so I’m now linking my posts up to Wishful Endings Can’t Wait Wednesday. Don’t forget to stop over, link up and check out what books everyone else is waiting for.  If you want to take part, basically, every Wednesday, we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week my book is : Witheard (Witherward #1) by Hannah Mathewsonand here’s why:

Witherward

Welcome to the Witherward, and to a London that is not quite like our own. Here, it’s summertime in February, the Underground is a cavern of wonders and magic fills the streets. But this London is a city divided, split between six rival magical factions, each with their own extraordinary talents – and the alpha of the Changelings, Gedeon Ravenswood, has gone rogue, threatening the fragile accords that have held London together for decades.

Ilsa is a shapeshifting Changeling who has spent the first 17 years of her life marooned in the wrong London, where real magic is reviled as the devil’s work. Abandoned at birth, she has scratched out a living first as a pickpocket and then as a stage magician’s assistant, dazzling audiences by secretly using her Changeling talents to perform impossible illusions. When she’s dragged through a portal into the Witherward, Ilsa finally feels like she belongs.

But her new home is on the brink of civil war, and Ilsa is pulled into the fray. The only way to save London is to track down Gedeon, and he just so happens to be Ilsa’s long-lost brother, one of the last surviving members of the family who stranded her in the wrong world. Beset by enemies on all sides, surrounded by supposed Changeling allies wearing faces that may not be their own, Ilsa must use all the tricks up her sleeve simply to stay alive.

SIX OF CROWS meets THE PRESTIGE in a debut YA/crossover fantasy set in an alternate Victorian London, perfect for fans of V.E. Schwab.

Expected publication : February 2021

11 Responses to “Can’t Wait Wednesday : Witherward (Witherward #1) by Hannah Mathewson”

  1. Tammy

    Wow this sounds good! I hope there is a US publisher.

    • @lynnsbooks

      And I hope it’s as good as it sounds. Fingers crossed.
      Lynn 😀

  2. Barb @ Booker T Farm

    Looks and sounds great. May have to snag it from Book Depository.

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yeah, I really like that cover, it’s very eye catching indeed.
      Lynn 😀

  3. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    I like the description of Six of Crows meets Prestige, like Tammy I hope it will get picked up by a US publisher!

  4. confessionsofayareader

    I love that cover!

  5. waytoofantasy

    Well this sounds exactly like my type of read, consider me intrigued. 🙂

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yes, I was quite captivated with the description for this one.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply to @lynnsbooks Cancel reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s