TTT : Books On My Fall/Autumn 2019 TBR

ttt

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme where every Tuesday we look at a particular topic for discussion and use various (or more to the point ten) bookish examples to demonstrate that particular topic.  Top Ten Tuesday (created and hosted by  The Broke and Bookish) is now being hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl and future week’s topics can be found here.  This week’s topic is:

 Books On My Fall/Autumn 2019 TBR

This is a nice easy topic this week – although it did make me a little bit scared when I looked at my reading schedule!  Still, a good topic – I’ve picked 10 of my forthcoming reads:

Imaginary Friend by Stephen Chbosky – taken from GRs  ‘Christopher is seven years old. Christopher is the new kid in town. Christopher has an imaginary friend. The epic work of literary horror from the #1 bestselling author of THE PERKS OF BEING A WALLFLOWER’ – oh yes, this is the month for a little horror after all methinks

Imaginary Friend.jpg

The Girl with No Face by M.H. Boroson – I don’t think I can possibly convey just how much I loved The Girl With Ghost Eyes which has made this book one of my most highly anticipated reads of the year.  ‘The adventures of Li-lin, a Daoist priestess with the unique ability to see the spirit world, continue in the thrilling follow-up to the critically-acclaimed historical urban fantasy The Girl with Ghost Eyes.’

Girlwithnoface

The Black Hawks by David Wragg – ‘Dark, thrilling, and hilarious, The Black Hawks is an epic adventure perfect for fans of Joe Abercrombie and Scott Lynch.’  those are some big boots to fill but if the author pulls it off this could be a fantastic read – I am excitement.

The BlackHawks.jpg

The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh.  Did somebody say vampires?  ‘a sumptuous, sultry and romantic new series set in 19th century New Orleans where vampires hide in plain sight’ – just read that description *read it I tell you*  Sumptuous, sultry, New Orleans, Vampires, – colour me happy. To say I am very hyped for this would be an under exaggeration – I will be gutted if this isn’t as good as it sounds (or should that be exsanguinated?)

TheBeautiful.jpg

Mistletoe by Alison Littlewood – the description for this one practically had me drooling (yes, very attractive indeed but we’re talking books here, drooling and grabby hands are all part of the territory).  I really enjoyed The Crow Garden so I’m so happy to have a copy of this.  Ghosts – malevolent  ones too, not friendly Casper types.

Mistletoe.jpg

Dark Pattern by Andrew Mayne – Professor Cray has to be one of my favourite fictional characters ( I pray to Frith that he’s only fictional that is!).  I am loving this series.  Positively loving it and I’m giddy about the next instalment.

DarkPattern.jpg

Ivory Apples by Lisa Goldstein – I have heard such good things about this book already – here’s a tiny snippet from the description to pull you in: ‘Ivy and her sisters have a secret: their reclusive Great-Aunt is actually Adela Martin, inspired author of the fantasy classic, Ivory Apples. Generations of obsessive fans have searched for Adela, poring over her letters, sharing their theories online, and gathering at book conventions. It is just a matter of time before one fan gets too close.’

IvoryApples.jpg

Angel Mage by Garth Nix – another little snippet to whet your appetite ‘More than a century has passed since Liliath crept into the empty sarcophagus of Saint Marguerite, fleeing the Fall of Ystara. But she emerges from her magical sleep still beautiful, looking no more than nineteen, and once again renews her single-minded quest to be united with her lover, Palleniel, the archangel of Ystara’ – the write up for this one sounds so good.  There is more drooling.

AngelMage.jpg

Ghoster by Jason Arnopp.  This is an author that I’ve not yet read – this one sounds really creepy, realistically creepy even ‘ a razor-sharp thriller for a social-media obsessed world. Prepare to never look at your phone the same way again . . ‘

Ghoster.jpg

Survivors by G X Todd – I love this series and Survivors is the final instalment.  I am so excited – if you’re not reading this series I highly recommend you do so.  ‘Survivors is the highly anticipated third instalment in the acclaimed Voices series, following the spectacular novels Defender and Hunted. Good and Evil are closer than ever before in a world where the voices in your head can save or slaughter you.’

Survivors.jpg

31 Responses to “TTT : Books On My Fall/Autumn 2019 TBR”

  1. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Heck yeah, talk about being scared of my TBR – my October is INSANE!!!

    • @lynnsbooks

      Oh yes, I KNOW how crazy your review shelf must be.
      Lynn 😀

  2. evelynreads1

    I really hope to read the beautiful, angel mage and ivory apples this fall as well!
    Enjoy your reading!

    (www.evelynreads.com)

    • @lynnsbooks

      Fingers crossed they’re all as good as they sound.
      Lynn 😀

      • evelynreads1

        Yes I really hope for that haha!

  3. imyril

    Happy autumn – I woke up to a weird sound and spent a good minute or two lying in bed before I realised it was torrential rain. It must have been a long, hot, dry summer if I’ve forgotten what that’s like! 🙂

    I suspect my autumn will be a tug of war between ‘I feel I SHOULD read THIS because REASONS’ and ‘…ooh I fancy reading THAT’ – so no change there then. I’m curious to hear what you make of Angel Mage and The Beautiful!

    • @lynnsbooks

      I’m very curious about those two books too. I can’t imagine forgetting what rain sounds like but then I’m from Lancashire and we have our share of rain.
      Lynn 😀

      • imyril

        I think I’ve somehow been awake when it rained or out of the country. It was so disconcerting! I grew up with an attic bedroom in Holland so rain on the window was my default morning sound for years 😀

      • @lynnsbooks

        I quite like the sound of rain on the windows – especially when sat on the inside observing.
        Lynn 😀

  4. Chloe Digan

    Imaginary friend sounds like a great read. I was a massive fan of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and loved Chbosky’s writing style. I will need to make sure I pick this up at some point!

    Chloe | Blissful Bookshelf

  5. jessicabookworm

    Lynn, looks like you have plenty of books that would be perfect for R.I.P. XIV lined up to read this season. I particularly interested in The Beautiful by Renée Ahdieh with its Sumptuous, sultry, New Orleans, Vampires description – Sounds fantastic! I will look forward to your thoughts on it, to see if it will be too scary or gory for me 😛

  6. Barb @ Booker T's Farm

    Casper is cute but malevolent ghosts is definitely where it’s at! So many good books coming out and I’m seeing The Beautiful everywhere today – including my list!

    • @lynnsbooks

      I hope The Beautiful is good – it’s getting a heck of a lot of attention.
      Lynn 😀

  7. Tammy

    I’m excited just looking at your list, Lynn! Ghoster, Dark Pattern, and The Girl with no Face are super high on my list😁

    • @lynnsbooks

      So many good books – October is ridiculous with good books – ridiculous in a very good way though.
      Lynn 😀

  8. Lisa

    I’m looking forward to Ivory Apples and Ghoster as well!

    • @lynnsbooks

      I’ve read good things about Ivory Apples already and I can’t wait to pick up Ghoster.
      Lynn 😀

  9. maddalena@spaceandsorcery

    The Black Hawks is calling to me with a very loud voice – and the fact that it’s slated for fans of both Abercrombie and Lynch places it very, very high on my “wanted” list 🙂

    • @lynnsbooks

      I know – I couldn’t resist. Next book to be read.
      Lynn 😀

  10. confessionsofayareader

    I’ve seen The Beautiful on quite a few lists already today. Good luck with your TBR!

  11. PerfectlyTolerable

    Good luck with your TBR 😀 I hope you enjoy all the books!

  12. waytoofantasy

    Great list! I’m also really excited for Angel Mage! I hope you love The Girl with No Face, thought that one was fantastic. 🙂

  13. pagesandtea

    So many great covers!
    Mistletoe sounds and looks so good, and seeing your mention of The Crow Garden reminds me that I still have that book on my TBR pile as well! Perhaps I should make an effort to read that one as well 😀
    I’m looking forward to Angel Mage too. I’ve requested it from the library so will probably get to read your review before starting the book. Hope you enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s