Can’t Wait Wednesday : Monstrous Heart by Claire McKenna

Can't Wait Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was originally created by Breaking the Spine.  Unfortunately Breaking the Spine are no longer hosting so I’m now linking my posts up to Wishful Endings Can’t Wait Wednesday. Don’t forget to stop over, link up and check out what books everyone else is waiting for.  If you want to take part, basically, every Wednesday, we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week my book is : Monstrous Heart by Claire McKenna – and here’s why:

Monstrous HeartA sensational debut novel perfect for fans of Outlander and The Binding. This is gothic, epic, romantic fantasy at it’s very best; a tale of magic, intrigue on dangerous waters and a love story for the ages.

When Arden Beacon is sent to the lighthouse, she is simply a woman with a job to do. She neither seeks, nor expects, distraction. After years tainted by disappointment, Arden is finally taking up her family’s profession. She must prove herself worthy of her name, for she has nothing else. But the coast she has been tasked with lighting is far from the world she knows – the salt-swept, backwater town of Vigil is battered by a sea teeming with colossal, ancient beasts. It is a place of secrets, rumours and tight-lipped expectations of a woman’s place. More than anyone, the folk of Vigil whisper about Arden’s new neighbour, Jonah Riven, hunter of leviathans. He murdered his wife, they whisper – a perfect, golden girl, full of charm and potential. So very different to Arden Beacon. They say he is as much a monster as his prey, but Arden cannot get this dark stranger out of her head. A sensational debut novel perfect for fans of Outlander and The Binding. This is gothic, epic, romantic fantasy at it’s very best; a tale of magic, intrigue on dangerous waters.

I know – romantic fantasy – but I just want to read this, I just love the sound of it.

Due for publication April 2020

Advertisements

14 Responses to “Can’t Wait Wednesday : Monstrous Heart by Claire McKenna”

  1. Barb @ Booker T's Farm

    Not something I normally gravitate to but since I enjoyed the All Soul’s Trilogy so much, maybe I won’t shy away from things with romance in the description quite so much.

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yeah, I usually steer clear of ‘romance’ but I’m hoping it won’t be the entire focus of the story.
      Lynn 😀

  2. Tammy

    I saw this on another UK blogger’s Booktube channel, and I was immediately interested. As far as I know there isn’t a US publisher yet, but I could be wrong. Great pick, gimme now!😍

    • @lynnsbooks

      Haha – it does sound intriguing, I hope it’s as good as it sounds.
      Lynn 😀

  3. maddalena@spaceandsorcery

    A Gothic tale on a monster-infested coast… A book to keep on my radar, indeed! 🙂

  4. Cate @ The Crime Scene Bookworm

    This sounds incredible!! I’ll definitely be keeping an eye out for it now!

  5. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Hmm, this could be interesting! Depending on how heavy the romance is 😀

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yeah, I’m hoping it’s a good concept that just happens to have a romance rather than a romance that has a bit of story going on in the background.
      Lynn 😀

  6. Kathy @ Pages Below the Vaulted Sky

    Oooh I haven’t seen this one before! Outlander + The Binding sounds like a pretty great premise?

  7. waytoofantasy

    Well, I’m intrigued. Fans of Outlander? I’m in. I still need to read The Binding! So many books.

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yup, the Outlander mention definitely caught my attention.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s