#SPFBO – Finalists No.6 and No.7

black

Today I’m highlighting the sixth and seventh books that I will be reading for the SPFBO Competition (more details here).  The first finalist I read was Out of Nowhere by Patrick LeClerc and my review can be found here .  My reviews for Symphony of the Wind and The Anointed are here and here.  My reviews for Sowing and Aching God will follow very soon.  The purpose of this post is to shine a spotlight on the finalists and give readers a chance to see what they’re all about.  As already mentioned all my books are randomly selected and my next two finalists will be:

RuthlessMagicRuthless Magic (Conspiracy of Magic #1) by Megan Crewe

In the contest to keep their magic, the only options may be die… or kill.

Each year, the North American Confederation of Mages assesses every sixteen-year-old novice. Some will be chosen. The rest must undergo a procedure to destroy their magical ability unless they prove themselves in the mysterious and brutal Mages’ Exam.

Disadvantaged by her parents’ low standing, Rocío Lopez has dedicated herself to expanding her considerable talent to earn a place in the Confederation. Their rejection leaves her reeling—and determined to fight to keep her magic.

Long ashamed of his mediocre abilities, Finn Lockwood knows the Confederation accepted him only because of his prominent family. Declaring for the Exam instead means a chance to confirm his true worth.

Thrown into the testing with little preparation, Rocío and Finn find themselves becoming unlikely allies—and possibly more. But the Exam holds secrets more horrifying than either could have imagined. What are the examiners really testing them for? And as the trials become increasingly vicious, how much are they willing to sacrifice to win?

The first in a new series by USA Today bestselling author Megan Crewe, Ruthless Magic combines the magic of Harry Potter with the ferocity of The Hunger Games alongside a poignant romance. Fans of Cassandra Clare and Holly Black, look no further for your next urban fantasy fix.

 

TheGodsofMenThe Gods of Men (The Gods of Men #1) by Barbara Kloss

Sable hated the gods. She hated what men did in their name.

Magic is forbidden throughout the Five Provinces; those born with it are hunted and killed. Sable doesn’t know her music holds power over souls—not until, at age nine, she plays her flute before the desert court and accidentally stops her baby sister’s heart, killing her. Horrified by what she’s done and fearing for her life, she flees north, out of Provincial jurisdiction and into the frigid land of exiles and thieves, known as The Wilds. There, Sable lives in hiding, burdened by guilt, and survives as a healer. But now, ten years later, someone—or something—is hunting her.

On the run again, Sable’s best chance for survival is Jos, a lethal man from the Five Provinces, who claims to need her skills as a healer to save his dying father, and she needs the large sum of money he’s offered. There’s something about him Sable doesn’t trust, but she doesn’t have many options. A spirit of the dead is hunting her, summoned by a mysterious necromancer, and it’s getting closer.

Sable soon discovers she’s just the start of the necromancer’s plan to take over the Five Provinces, and she’s the only one with the power to stop it. But harnessing her forbidden power means revealing it to the world, and the dangerous Provincial, Jos, she’s beginning to fall for.

Fans of Brandon Sanderson, Naomi Novik, and Victoria Schwab will love this dark and epic fantasy adventure.

Advertisements

11 Responses to “#SPFBO – Finalists No.6 and No.7”

  1. Tammy

    These both sound really good. I’m particularly drawn to The Gods of Men😊

    • @lynnsbooks

      It does seem to be receiving a lot of love which is very encouraging.
      Lynn 😀

  2. waytoofantasy

    I’ve heard good things about The Gods of Men.

  3. maddalena@spaceandsorcery

    The Gods of Men sounds so very intriguing, and that cover! Ah, that cover… 🙂

  4. Nicole Evans

    I really enjoyed both of these! But I was particularly fond of The Gods of Men, it was SO GOOD.

    • @lynnsbooks

      I can’t wait to pick up both – they sound like books that I will enjoy.
      Lynn 😀

      • Nicole Evans

        I’m excited to hear your thoughts about them!

  5. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    A really good crop of SPFBO books this year. These both sound very promising.

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yeah, I really like the sound of them and can’t wait to dive in.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s