Can’t Wait Wednesday : Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia

Can't Wait Wednesday

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme that was originally created by Breaking the Spine.  Unfortunately Breaking the Spine are no longer hosting so I’m now linking my posts up to Wishful Endings Can’t Wait Wednesday. Don’t forget to stop over, link up and check out what books everyone else is waiting for.  If you want to take part, basically, every Wednesday, we highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week my book is : Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia.  Because I really do love this author and just check out the synopsis:

Gods ofJade.jpgThe Mayan God of Death sends a young woman on a harrowing, life-changing journey in this dark fairy tale inspired by Mexican folklore, for readers of The Song of Achilles and Uprooted.

The Jazz Age is in full swing, but Casiopea Tun is too busy cleaning the floors of her wealthy grandfather’s house to listen to any fast tunes. Nevertheless, she dreams of a life far from her dusty small town in southern Mexico. A life she can call her own.

Yet this new life seems as distant as the stars, until the day she finds a curious wooden box in her grandfather’s room. She opens it—and accidentally frees the spirit of the Mayan god of death, who requests her help in recovering his throne from his treacherous brother. Failure will mean Casiopea’s demise, but success could make her dreams come true.

In the company of the strangely alluring god and armed with her wits, Casiopea begins an adventure that will take her on a cross-country odyssey, from the jungles of Yucatán to the bright lights of Mexico City—and deep into the darkness of the Mayan underworld.

Due for publication : August 2019

Advertisements

16 Responses to “Can’t Wait Wednesday : Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia”

  1. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Yay, grabbed it from NetGalley earlier this week! Can’t wait to check it out!

  2. Tammy

    I just got approved for this yesterday, super excited!

  3. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    Definitely looking forward to this one 😀

    • @lynnsbooks

      We all seem to be brimming with excitement for this one.
      Lynn 😀

  4. Barb (boxermommyreads)

    I’ve been wanting to fall in love with another work by this author since I read “Certain Dark Things” but I’m afraid nothing will measure up. This one does sound good though.

    • @lynnsbooks

      Haha – yeah,I know what you mean but I do love the sound of this one. Beautiful Ones was good – but it wasn’t as good as Certain Dark Things.
      Lynn 😀

  5. maddalena@spaceandsorcery

    I hope NetGalley will be kind to me 😀 since I have developed a strong admiration for this author… 🙂

    • @lynnsbooks

      I hope they will be kind to me too – although it’s actually not available in the UK so probably not!
      Lynn 😀

  6. sjhigbee

    *sound of me scampering across to see if I can grab a copy* Ooo… thank you so much for sharing:))

  7. Carmen

    Wow, I would love to read this one! 🙂

  8. waytoofantasy

    Yes! Also looking forward to this one. I also REALLY love the cover. ❤

    • @lynnsbooks

      It’s so unusual isn’t it. I can’t wait to give it a whirl.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s