If you like ‘??’ (insert your favourite reading material) you’ll love this!

b2bf5-toptentuesday2

This week over at the Broke and Bookish the topic for Top Ten Tuesday is:

‘Top Ten books for readers who like????

Okay, yes of course I’m going to stick with fantasy – but I’m going to cover lots of different genres just to demonstrate how very flexible and all encompassing fantasy really is (some of these may be a bit tongue in cheek):

  1. Classical – Lord of the Rings by JRRTolkien – I had to go there.
  2. Horror – Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer – creepy as hell. You will need a cushion to cover your eyes. In fact, don’t read at night – particularly if you’re sat downstairs with a large picture window at your back and the curtains open – you’ll be scared to turn around!  I actually tried it just so you wouldn’t have to.
  3. Murder/Mystery – The Dresden Files by Jim Butcher. private detective (and occasional magician) working out of Chicago with a trusty sidekick (good cop/bad cop) called Bob.
  4. Political intrigue – The Mechanical by Ian Tregillis – spies and espionage, nay, double agents, coupled with steampunk aplenty.
  5. Chick Lit – bit of a stretch here so stay with me – The Parasol Protectorate by Gail Carriger.  Look, it’s a period drama with lots of attention on bonnets and parasols so that’s all I have.  I like this series, it feels like a steampunk updated version of Austen (ahem) – it could be….okay, there’s also a rather dishy werewolf.
  6. Historical – The Iron Age by Angus Watson, the clue’s in the title!!
  7. Children – The Dark Materials trilogy by Philip Pullman – great crossover series that can be read by children and adults alike.
  8. Adventure – The Copper Promise by Jen williams – swamped with derring do!  There are also dragons – I don’t really know how much more adventure you want – but, okay, war, an army of green, sharp teethed warrior women and, well, lots of other bloody cool stuff.
  9. Food and Drink – again, work with me here – Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard Series – we’re talking about some serious world building here complete with some rather delicious sounding food and some rather tasty beverages – I’m not kidding – I actually tried to make some of these – I recommend the Ginger Scald!
  10. Comics and Graphic novels – the Sandman Series by Neil Gaiman – Morpheus, that is all.

Advertisements

26 Responses to “If you like ‘??’ (insert your favourite reading material) you’ll love this!”

  1. readerbuzz

    I think you did cover it all! Good for you.

    Here’s my TTT: Good Books for Old Broads (Like Me)!

  2. Kathleen

    I loved your take on #5 and #9!! Love both series too.

    • lynnsbooks

      I had to make one of the books fit somehow – bit of creative cheating.
      Lynn 😀

  3. digitaltempest

    Great list and it reminds me that I need to bump some of these books I haven’t read up my TBR pile like The Parasol Protectorate. I’m a huge fan of The Sandman series. I need to start a reread of that soon. ❤

    • lynnsbooks

      I haven’t finished Sandman yet but I’ll get there eventually.
      Lynn 😀

  4. aidylewoh

    Woah, your list sounds a little bit frightening. 😉 Actually, fantasy isn’t my cup of tea, but every once in a while I hear about a fantasy book that sounds really interesting. 🙂

    Aidyl’s TTT

    • lynnsbooks

      You must let me know what fantasy you have read and enjoyed – just idle curiosity of course!
      Lynn 😀

  5. Anastasia

    I like the way you made your list! There are so many categories/subcategories/overcategories(?) for books 🙂 Have to read #5, #6 #8 at some point 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      yes, you certainly must read them – highly recommended.
      Lynn 😀

  6. jessicabookworm

    Interesting choices, I am pleased to see Lord of the Rings and His Dark Materials 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      I loved the Pullman Trilogy – I read all three of them back to back.
      Lynn 😀

  7. Kay

    I like your list. And I’m definitely a mystery/crime novel reader primarily, but I have not read the Dresden Files. I should, right? 😉

    • lynnsbooks

      The Dresden Files are just great, lots of action, plenty of magic, wild chases, supernatural creatures and just all round crazy. The first wasn’t my favourite though so if you do pick up bear that in mind and stick with it.
      Lynn 😀

  8. Bridget

    I’ve heard great things about Annihiliation/Area X and The Dresden Files! Glad to hear you liked them, too. We seem to have similar tastes 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Annihilation – I found it very creepy. I should get on and read the rest of the series. I’m really enjoying The Dresden Files so far – think I’m up to No.6 or 7 maybe.
      Lynn 😀

  9. Michael

    I have to disagree on the Parasol Protectorate. It felt too much like a romance novel to me — at least the first one one did. I haven’t read any others because the first one turned me off so.

    • lynnsbooks

      Well, I did it have it down as my chick lit! 😀 There was definitely a big accent on the romance and I could see it would definitely turn some people off, but, it wasn’t all about the romance (although I could see why you would think that having read the first which was kind of like a set up for Alexia to get involved and married so she could ultimately be freed up to do her own thing. Definitely not a series for everyone though.
      Lynn 😀

  10. caitlinstern

    I adore steampunk, and the parasol protectorate is an excellent fun example of it.

  11. Genki Jason

    Just downloaded Annihilation by Jeff VanderMeer. Sounds a bit like the anime Darker than Black and the Tarkovsky film Stalker.

  12. Mogsy

    I don’t think the Parasol Protectorate as chick lit is that much of a stretch, I can definitely see how it can be chick-littish if I really think about it, lol! I do recall feeling Soulless was too romancey for me 😛

    • lynnsbooks

      Soulless was definitely quite romancey, I don’t think the rest of the series had quite that same feel in fact to a certain extent it felt like the whole romance and marriage was a set up so Alexia could enjoy more freedom!
      Lynn 😀

  13. sumlynnnguyen

    Interesting way of interpreting this week’s theme. There was something for everyone! I’m going to add The Mechanical and The Parasol Protectorate to my TBR list!

    • lynnsbooks

      The Mechanical was absolutely awesome. Such a good read. The Parasol Protectorate is also a very entertaining fun series. I hope you enjoy them.
      Lynn 😀

  14. laura

    I don’t think I’ve read any of these (except lord of the rings). I like the links you make though 🙂

    • lynnsbooks

      Thanks Laura. It was a bit silly I suppose but silly is sometimes just what you need.
      Lynn 😀

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s