#SPFBO – Not a Review : Finalist Reading Schedule, Book #3

Artboard 1

300 books           10 Judges            1 winner

The 1st of June marked the start of the sixth Self Published Fantasy Blog Off (details here.)  My Introductory post is here.  Stage 1 is now complete and the finalists can be found here .

During Stage 2 I will read, review and score the remaining 9 finalists as will the other judges until a winner is revealed.  As with previous years I have given each of the 9 books a number and randomly selected a reading order.  Today’s post is to highlight the third book I will be reading and provide information regarding that particular finalist.  The first finalist I read was Shadow of a Dead God by Patrick Samphire.  This was a great start to the finals and my review can be found here.  My second book was The Fall of Erlon by Robert H Fleming which I posted my review for yesterday.  Today’s post is to highlight the third book I will be picking up.

My third finalist will be :

Nether Light by Shaun Paul Stevens

Nether Light is the finalist selected this year by The Fantasy Inn.  Their review can be found here and below is the description and author details:

NetherLight

Take a journey through a world punished by a dark, imprisoned magic. A world where children are given poison. A world where your talent is decided by the state.

A world where reality is breaking down.

When refugee Guyen washes up in the land of his enemy, he knows he will fight, but soon finds himself falling down a well of wonder and improbability.

Can he survive a system designed to oppress him? Can he tame his anger to unleash his potential? Can he see his enemy for what they truly are?

Nether Light is a gritty, heart-wrenching tale of high magic and high stakes, loves lost and friendships gained, set in an oil-lit, 18th century world far, far away.

And it’s full to the gills with epic fantasy, plotting, scheming, and racy, jaw-dropping, immersive adventure. What more could you ask for? 

For fans of Patrick Rothfuss, Brandon Sanderson, Neil Gaiman, Mark Lawrence, V.E. Schwab, Ed McDonald, Brian McClellan.

Please note: This book contains mature themes.

ShaunPaulStevensAuthor:

Born in London in 1972, Shaun spent his formative years in the shadows of the dreaming spires of Oxford, before moving to Nottingham where he graduated with a degree in English and Media.

Shaun lives in Brighton, on the south coast of England, where he splits his time between fiction, geekdom, and garlic bread.

Find out more at shaunpaulstevens.com

Twitter : spstevenswriter

10 Responses to “#SPFBO – Not a Review : Finalist Reading Schedule, Book #3”

  1. Jake is Reading

    Nether Light sounds really interesting!

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yes, I’m very much looking forward to picking it up.
      Lynn 😀

  2. Mareli Thalwitzer

    This is such a marvelous idea to give self publishers a bit of a boost. Nether Light has a gorgeous cover!

    Enjoy this challenge Lynn (is that you will call it?)

    Have a good week!

    Elza Reads

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yes, the cover for this one is lovely and the description is intriguing.
      Lynn 😀

  3. sjhigbee

    This one sounds really intriguing – probably a bit dark for my taste, but I do love that cover!

  4. Peyton @ wordwilderness

    Can’t wait to see what the results are! This book sounds interesting so I added it to my TBR plus a couple other finalists (:

  5. waytoofantasy

    Looking forward to your thoughts!

    • @lynnsbooks

      I haven’t started it yet (eek). Need to start soon, don’t want to fall behind.
      Lynn 😀

  6. Book Tag: Are You A Book Snob? – Way Too Fantasy

    […] this tag over at Lynn’s Book Blog a while back and thought it would be fun to fill out so here we are. Not sure who originally […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s