Waiting on Wednesday: A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers #RRSciFiMonth

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  Every Wednesday we get to highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  My book this week is : A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers – now, you may be wondering what I’m doing highlighting this book for a WoW when in actual fact it was released a few days ago.  Well, three fold, firstly, I’m still waiting on it so there’s that (okay, that’s a very skimpy excuse because I just haven’t ‘one clicked’ yet! but, even so), secondly, yesterday saw the start of SciFi Month 2016 which I’ve signed up for and am highlighting all things sci fi as much as possible; and thirdly, there’s a readalong planned for this book with a few other mighty swell bloggers – due to take place in December I’ll post further details as soon as the schedule is posted.

aclosedand-commonLovelace was once merely a ship’s artificial intelligence. When she wakes up in an new body, following a total system shut-down and reboot, she has no memory of what came before. As Lovelace learns to negotiate the universe and discover who she is, she makes friends with Pepper, an excitable engineer, who’s determined to help her learn and grow.

Together, Pepper and Lovey will discover that no matter how vast space is, two people can fill it together.

The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet introduced readers to the incredible world of Rosemary Harper, a young woman with a restless soul and secrets to keep. When she joined the crew of the Wayfarer, an intergalactic ship, she got more than she bargained for – and learned to live with, and love, her rag-tag collection of crewmates.

A Closed and Common Orbit is the stand-alone sequel to Becky Chambers’ beloved debut novel The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet and is perfect for fans of Firefly, Joss Whedon, Mass Effect and Star Wars. 

Advertisements

15 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday: A Closed and Common Orbit by Becky Chambers #RRSciFiMonth”

  1. sjhigbee

    Ooo… I really enjoyed A Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet so I shall be looking out for this one, too. My Waiting on Wednesday is a loooong awaited book…
    https://sjhigbee.wordpress.com/2016/11/02/waiting-on-wednesday-2nd-november-2016/

  2. cupcakesandmachetes

    Cannot wait for this book! I really adored A Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet.

    • @lynnsbooks

      Me too – in fairness it has just been released here so I can go and pick up a copy but I’m hoping to join a readalong in December so will grab a copy then. If you fancy joining and want the details let me know.
      Lynn 😀

      • cupcakesandmachetes

        I probably won’t pick it up until my library gets it. If that happens in December I would definitely be down for a readalong!

      • @lynnsbooks

        I hope our library comes through then 😀

  3. Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

    I’m really looking forward to reading this one as well! Small Angry Planet was such a fun read.

    • @lynnsbooks

      It was – I didn’t know what to expect and I was pleasantly surprised. Do you think you’ll join the readalong?

      • Lisa (@TenaciousReader)

        I don’t know. 😀 I haven’t done one before, and can’t decide.

      • @lynnsbooks

        I do enjoy readalongs – only because I think it teases out some extra thoughts along the way and it’s so interesting to get other people’s perspective as you read along.
        Lynn 😀

  4. Greg

    I still need to read the first one but this series is calling to me I think. 🙂 I like the space opera sound of it. And that cover is fantastic!

    • @lynnsbooks

      Greg, I love the covers. The first book was not at all what I expected, it reads almost like a small series of events which wasn’t what I’d imagined but Once I realised that was the style I loved it – plus the characters are what made the read for me really.
      Lynn 😀

  5. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    Yep, I have this one lined up as well! Glad the readalong group has decided to keep this one on, I definitely do not mind waiting til December 🙂

    • @lynnsbooks

      Yeah me too, December is fine and lets me focus on sci fi month for now. I’ve narrowed down my review books and I’m hoping that November and December will be good for catching up but I’m glad to be picking this one up with the group again.
      Lynn 😀

  6. Jorie

    This is super awesomesauce news! 🙂 My library accepted my purchase REQ for Small Angry Planet – which has me stoked as I’m reading it for my participation in #RRScFiMonth! I am so happy to hear the story has a sequel! 🙂 You can see everything I’m planning to read on my SFN Intro Post! I might be adding a few extras as the month moves forward but these are the ones I’m definitely reading.

    I look forward to seeing if my library can purchase the sequel, too! What wicked fun for me! 🙂 Thanks for announcing this!! I’m going to be asking readers to join me as I read the novel during #RRSciFiMonth – so if anyone here wants to read it, watch my Twitter feeds for my announcement!! (see @joriestory)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s