Waiting on Wednesday: Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt

“Waiting On Wednesday” is a weekly meme hosted by Breaking the Spine.  Every Wednesday we get to highlight a book that we’re really looking forward to.  This week: Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt:

26802679The incredible, horrifying thriller from Thomas Olde Heuveult, the Hugo award-winning author of ‘The Day The World Turned Upside Down’, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman, Adam Nevill and Stephen King.

Whoever is born here, is doomed to stay until death. Whoever comes to stay, never leaves.

Welcome to Black Spring, the seemingly picturesque Hudson Valley town haunted by the Black Rock Witch, a seventeenth-century woman whose eyes and mouth are sewn shut. Blind and silenced, she walks the streets and enters homes at will. She stands next to children’s beds for nights on end. So accustomed to her have the townsfolk become that they often forget she’s there. Or what a threat she poses. Because if the stitches are ever cut open, the story goes, the whole town will die.

The curse must not be allowed to spread. The elders of Black Spring have used high-tech surveillance to quarantine the town. Frustrated with being kept in lockdown, the town’s teenagers decide to break the strict regulations and go viral with the haunting. But, in so doing, they send the town spiraling into a dark nightmare.

Expected publication: April 28th 2016 by Hodder & Stoughton

Advertisements

11 Responses to “Waiting on Wednesday: Hex by Thomas Olde Heuvelt”

  1. Yvonne (@bookishpanda)

    Ohhhh my god! This sounds freaking AMAZING!!!! I haven’t heard of it before but … okay, first, the cover looks GORGEOUS. Then the synopsis – it’s so intriguing and fascinating and cool and UGHHH GIVE IT TO ME NOW! Thanks a lot for sharing this, it went straight to my TBR list! :O

    Here’s my WoW! 🙂
    Yvonne @ A World Between Folded Pages

    • @lynnsbooks

      It does sound really good. I was so excited when I read the synopsis.
      Lynn 😀

  2. Barb(boxermommyreads)

    Yes! This one can’t come soon enough. It sound so eerie and creepy, which I love. Great pick and thanks for sharing!

    • @lynnsbooks

      Thanks and you’re welcome.
      I am really looking forward to this one.
      Lynn 😀

  3. buffywnabe

    Okay, this sounds very spooky! I’ve got to go add it to my TBR on Goodreads. Thanks for sharing it!
    Check out my WOW

  4. Sharry

    How odd…and creepy sounding. A mutilated old woman standing next to my bed at night and ME FORGETTING SHE’S THERE? Sooo not happening 😛 I read Thomas Olde Heuvelt’s short story for this year’s Hugo and found it really strange and humorous…now add creepy to the mix and I’m in!

    • @lynnsbooks

      It does sound really creepy. Really looking forward to picking it up.
      Lynn 😀

  5. Mogsy @ BiblioSanctum

    I want to check this one out too! I’m glad it’s also being pubbed in the US, I think around the same time.

  6. lissiet

    Love that cover! Looks interesting!
    Hope you get some great books under the tree! Merry Christmas!
    Missie @ A Flurry of Ponderings

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s